Where We Work

The McGowan Fund makes grants in five geographic regions. In addition, we’ve supported multi-regional and national initiatives. You can see an example of a national initiative here

Colorado: Denver Metropolitan and Eagle County

Illinois: Chicago neighborhoods of Austin and North Lawndale

Kansas/Missouri: Kansas City Metropolitan

New York: Rochester Metropolitan and Yates County

Pennsylvania: Lackawanna County, Luzerne County


We’ve made some changes recently

  • In 2018, we discontinued grant-making in Reno, Nevada. We’re grateful for the opportunity we’ve had to work with the extraordinary organizations and citizens there.
  • As of September 15, 2018, Chicago grants will be made by invitation only.